facebook page twitter page xing page
German English

THE PIANIST

The study and the international career

PIETRO MASSA was born on March 6, 1973 in Milan (Italy).

He graduated in Genoa with Luciano Lanfranchi and then in Paris with Aldo Ciccolini. He studied composition in his hometown under Danilo Lorenzini, Adelchi Amisano and Bruno Bettinelli. After a university degree in classical philology, Massa earned his doctorate at the Freie Universität Berlin in Musicology with dissertation "Carl Orff antiques dramas and Hölderlin reception in postwar Germany" (Peter Lang, Frankfurt am Main, 2006).

Since 1999, the artist lives in Berlin. The German capital is the center of life for him and at the same time the center of his international career as a soloist.

Meanwhile, he gave concerts worldwide: in many European countries and in the United States, Uruguay, Brazil, Kazakhstan, Japan, the Türkey and Ukraine. As a chamber musician, he has collaborated with members of the Staatskapelle Berlin, the Rachmaninoff String Quartet (Russia), with the Lamy String Quartet (Japan) and with the Quartetto di Venezia (Italy).

His special interest is for the Italian piano repertoire of the 19th and 20th century.

So he discovered after intensive archival research the long-lost score of 2nd Piano Concerto in F major Op. 92 by Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco in Philadelphia again. The first European performance of the work was carried out with him at the piano in September 2009 with the Berlin Symphony Orchestra in the Grand Hall of the Berliner Philharmonie. Capriccio Vienna published the resulting CD as a world premiere.

Following the release of his live recording from the Piano Concerto No. 3 Rachmaninov (Genuin Classics, 2007) brought Pietro Massa late 2008 in collaboration with the Neubrandenburg Philharmonic and the Ernst Senff Choir Berlin, the Concerto for Piano, Orchestra and Male Choir by Ferruccio Busoni on CD out (Price of criticism "Hessischer Rundfunk 2009«). Based on this success, the long collaboration with the conductor Stefan Malzev began.

Much attention received briefly later their performance of Giuseppe Martucci's Piano Concerto No. 2 (Crystal Classics, 2011). With the same orchestra appeared 2014 a 2 CDs box with the both piano concertos by Castelnuovo-Tedesco.

For Solo Piano Crystal Classics 2012 presented in world premiere recording the CD with the complete piano works by Riccardo Zandonai.

The release of three CDs with the 1st Piano Concerto by Martucci, the Piano Concerto in A minor by Ottorino Respighi and the Divertimento "Scarlattiana" by Alfredo Casella is scheduled in 2016 thanks to the cooperation between DeutschlandRadio, the label Myricae Classics and international distribution of Naxos USA.

The concert career has taken other worldwide appearances with renowned orchestras under the baton of such conductors as Christoph-Mathias Mueller (Switzerland), Othmar Mága (Czech Republic), Felix Carrasco (Mexico), Ender Sakpinar (Turkey), Vitaly Kutzenko (Ukraine) and Abzal Mukhitdinov (Kazakhstan).

His repertoire with orchestra has 27 already played piano concertos.

Pietro Massa gives concerts as a soloist regularly in Germany with piano recitals in Berlin (Philharmonie and Konzerthaus) , Hamburg (Laeiszhalle), Munich (Gasteig), Dusseldorf (Tonhalle and Robert Schumann Hall), Nürnberg (Meistersingerhalle) and Stuttgart (Liederhalle).

Pietro Massa

A LIFE BETWEEN GERMANY AND ITALY

The Artist about himself

"My life develops since fifteen years between Germany and Italy. The two countries polarize my existence as an artist today.

Berlin as town to live and the Italian village of Nervi as home have thus become inseparable elements of my being: on one side the chaos of a multicultural metropolis, on the other side the sense of world order through the Ligurian coast with its sea and its nature.

In Nervi, I enjoy my "Italianity", buy me shirts and neckties, meet friends in cafes and restaurants, have breakfast by the sea, drink aperitif in the evening and ride the motorcycle along the coast until late at night. In Nervi, I do not practice.
I bring back this world to Berlin. It remains deep in the background, because Berlin is a European city: labyrinthine for the spirit.

Here, I prepare my concerts and in the contrasting dynamics of the city I develop my devotion to music as the supreme principle."

Pietro Massa

massa images

Berlin-Kreuzberg (Am Schlesischen Tor)

massa images

Genova-Nervi (Harbour)

27 PIANO CONCERTOS IN REPERTOIRE

List of piano concertos with orchestra already played

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART
Piano Concerto in E flat major KV 271 "Jenamy"
Piano Concerto in G major KV 453
Piano Concerto in C minor KV 491

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN
Piano Concerto in B flat major No. 2 Op. 19
Piano Concerto in C minor No. 3 Op. 37
Triple Concerto for Violine, Cello and Piano in C major Op. 56

FRÉDÉRIC CHOPIN
Piano Concerto in E minor No. 1 Op. 11
Piano Concerto in F minor No. 2 Op. 21
Andante Spianato et Grande Polonaise Brillante Op. 22

ROBERT SCHUMANN
Piano Concerto in A minor Op. 54

GIUSEPPE MARTUCCI
Piano Concerto in D minor No. 1 Op. 40
Piano Concerto in B flat minor No. 2 Op. 66

OTTORINO RESPIGHI
Piano Concerto in A minor (1902)
Toccata for Piano and Orchestra

PJOTR ILJITSCH TSCHAIKOWSKI
Piano Concerto in B flat minor No. 1 Op. 23

SERGEJ RACHMANINOFF
Piano Concerto in D minor No. 3 Op. 30

SERGEJ PROKOFIEFF
Piano Concerto in C major No. 3 Op. 26

FERRUCCIO BUSONI
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra with Male Choir in C major Op. 39

ALFREDO CASELLA
Divertimento "Scarlattiana" (Hommage to Domenico Scarlatti)

MANEUL DE FALLA
Noches en los Jardines de España

GEROGE GERSHWIN
Concerto in F
Rhapsody in Blue

MARIO CASTELNUOVO-TEDESCO
Piano Concerto in G major No. 1 Op. 46
Piano Concerto in F major No. 2 Op. 92

CARL ORFF
Carmina Burana (Version for two pianos, choir and percussions)

LUIGI DALLAPICCOLA
Piccolo Concerto per Muriel Couvreux

GOFFREDO PETRASSI
Piano Concerto (1937/39)

facebook page twitter page xing page
Deutsch Englisch

DER PIANIST

Das Studium und die internationale Karriere

PIETRO MASSA wurde am 6. März 1973 in Mailand (Italien) geboren.

Seine Ausbildung absolvierte er in Genoa bei Luciano Lanfranchi und dann in Paris bei Aldo Ciccolini. Komposition studierte er in seiner Heimatstadt bei Danilo Lorenzini, Adelchi Amisano und Bruno Bettinelli. Nach dem Hochschulabschluss in Altphilologie promovierte Massa an der Freien Universität Berlin in Musikwissenschaft mit der Dissertation »Carl Orffs Antikendramen und die Hölderlin-Rezeption im Deutschland der Nachkriegszeit« (Peter Lang, Frankfurt am Main, 2006).

Seit 1999 lebt der Künstler in Berlin. Die deutsche Hauptstadt ist für ihn Lebensmittelpunkt und zugleich das Zentrum seiner internationalen Karriere als Solist.

Massa konzertierte inzwischen weltweit: in zahlreichen Ländern Europas sowie in den USA, Uruguay, Brasilien, Kasachstan, Japan, der Türkey und der Ukraine. Kammermusikalisch arbeitete er mit Mitgliedern der Staatskapelle Berlin, mit dem Rachmaninow-Streichquartett (Russland), mit dem Lamy String Quartet (Japan) und mit dem Quartetto di Venezia (Italien) zusammen.

Sein besonderes Interesse gilt dem italienischen Klavierrepertoire des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts.

So entdeckte er nach intensiver Archiv-Recherche die verloren geglaubte Partitur des 2. Klavierkonzertes F-Dur Op. 92 von Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco in Philadelphia wieder. Die erste europäische Aufführung des Werks erfolgte mit ihm am Flügel im September 2009 mit den Berliner Symphonikern im Großen Saal der Berliner Philharmonie. Capriccio Wien veröffentlichte die daraus entstandene CD als Weltpremiere.

Nach der Veröffentlichung seiner Live-Aufnahme vom 3. Klavierkonzert Sergej Rachmaninows (Genuin Classics, 2007) brachte Pietro Massa Ende 2008 gemeinsam mit der Neubrandenburger Philharmonie und dem Ernst-Senff-Chor Berlin das Concerto für Klavier, Orchester und Männerchor von Ferruccio Busoni auf CD heraus (Preis der Kritik »Hessischer Rundfunk 2009«). Aufgrund dieses Erfolgs begann die lange Zusammenarbeit mit dem Dirigenten Stefan Malzew

Viel Beachtung fand kurz später auch ihre Einspielung von Giuseppe Martuccis 2. Klavierkonzert (Crystal Classics, 2011). Mit demselben Orchester erschien 2014 eine 2CDs-Box mit den beiden Klavierkonzerten von Castelnuovo-Tedesco.

Für Klavier Solo präsentierte Crystal Classics 2012 in Weltersteinspielung auch die CD mit den Gesamtklavierwerken von Riccardo Zandonai.

Die Veröffentlichung von drei CDs mit dem 1. Klavierkonzert von Martucci, mit dem Klavierkonzert a-Moll von Ottorino Respighi und mit dem Divertimento "Scarlattiana" von Alfredo Casella findet 2016 durch die Kooperation zwischen DeutschlandRadio, dem Label Myricae Classics und dem internationalen Vertrieb von Naxos U.S.A. statt.

Die Konzerttätigkeit führte sonst weltweit zu Auftritten mit namhaften Orchestern unter der Leitung von Dirigenten wie Christoph-Mathias Mueller (Schweiz), Othmar Mága (Tschechien), Felix Carrasco (Mexico), Ender Sakpinar (Türkei), Vitaly Kutzenko (Ukraine) und Abzal Mukhitdinov (Kasachstan).

Sein Repertoire mit Orchester umfasst 27 bereits gespielte Klavierkonzerte.

Pietro Massa gastiert als Solist regelmäßig in Deutschland mit Klavierabenden in Berlin (Philharmonie und Konzerthaus), Hamburg (Laeiszhalle), München (Gasteig), Düsseldorf (Tonhalle und Robert-Schumann-Saal), Nürnberg (Meistersingerhalle) und Stuttgart (Liederhalle).

Pietro Massa

EIN LEBEN ZWISCHEN DEUTSCHLAND UND ITALIEN

Der Künstler über sich selbst

"Mein Leben entwickelt sich seit fünfzehn Jahren zwischen Deutschland und Italien. Die beiden Länder polarisieren heute meine Existenz als Künstler.

Berlin als Wahlstadt und das italienische Dorf Nervi als Heimat sind so zu untrennbaren Elementen meines Wesens geworden: auf der einen Seite das Chaos einer multikulturellen Metropole, auf der anderen Seite das Gefühl der Weltordnung durch die ligurische Küste mit ihrem Meer und mit ihrer Natur.

In Nervi genieße ich meine Italianität, kaufe mir Hemden und Kravatten, treffe Freunde in Cafés und Restaurants, frühstücke am Meer, trinke abends Aperitiv und fahre mit dem Motorrad der Küste entlang bis spät in der Nacht. In Nervi übe ich nicht.

Diese Welt bringe ich nach Berlin zurück. Sie wirkt dann tief im Hintergrund, weil Berlin eine europäische Stadt ist: labyrinthisch für den Geist.

Hier bereite ich meine Auftritte vor und in der kontrastreichen Dynamik der Stadt entfaltet sich so meine Hingabe zur Musik als oberstes Prinzip."

Pietro Massa

massa images

Berlin-Kreuzberg (Am Schlesischen Tor)

massa images

Genova-Nervi (Hafen)

27 KLAVIERKONZERTE IM REPERTOIRE

Liste der bereits aufgeführten Klavierkonzerte mit Orchester

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART
Klavierkonzert Es-Dur KV 271 "Jenamy"
Klavierkonzert G-Dur KV 453
Klavierkonzert c-Moll KV 491

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN
Klavierkonzert B-Dur Nr. 2 Op. 19
Klavierkonzert c-Moll Nr. 3 Op. 37
Tripelkonzert für Violine, Cello und Klavier C-Dur Op. 56

FRÉDÉRIC CHOPIN
Klavierkonzert e-Moll Nr. 1 Op. 11
Klavierkonzert f-Moll Nr. 2 Op. 21
Andante Spianato et Grande Polonaise Brillante Op. 22

ROBERT SCHUMANN
Klavierkonzert a-Moll Op. 54

GIUSEPPE MARTUCCI
Klavierkonzert d-Moll Nr. 1 Op. 40
Klavierkonzert b-Moll Nr. 2 Op. 66

OTTORINO RESPIGHI
Klavierkonzert a-Moll (1902)
Toccata für Klavier und Orchester

PJOTR ILJITSCH TSCHAIKOWSKI
Klavierkonzert b-Moll Nr. 1 Op. 23

SERGEJ RACHMANINOFF
Klavierkonzert d-Moll Nr. 3 Op. 30

SERGEJ PROKOFIEFF
Klavierkonzert C-Dur Nr. 3 Op. 26

FERRUCCIO BUSONI
Concerto für Klavier und Orchester mit Männerchor C-Dur Op. 39

ALFREDO CASELLA
Divertimento "Scarlattiana" (Hommage an Domenico Scarlatti)

MANEUL DE FALLA
Noches en los Jardines de España

GEROGE GERSHWIN
Concerto in F
Rhapsody in Blue

MARIO CASTELNUOVO-TEDESCO
Klavierkonzert G-Dur Nr. 1 Op. 46
Klavierkonzert F-Dur Nr. 2 Op. 92

CARL ORFF
Carmina Burana (Version für Kammerorchester und Chor)

LUIGI DALLAPICCOLA
Piccolo Concerto per Muriel Couvreux

GOFFREDO PETRASSI
Klavierkonzert (1937/39)